Top Stories

Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, UP bypolls: Voting ends in 54 seats, 66.28 pc turnout in MP

Voting was underway on Tuesday for by-elections to 54 assembly constituencies spread across 10 states, including 28 seats in Madhya Pradesh where the BJP is locked in a keen contest with the Congress to save its government. All COVID-19 guidelines were in place as polling began with election staff in personal protective equipment (PPE) suits, more polling booths to prevent overcrowding, thermal screening, sanitisers and masks and gloves for voters as well as markings to ensure social distancing. Voting started at 7 am and will continue till 6 pm, except in Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand and Nagaland. The number of people allowed in a polling booth has been restricted. The last hour has been reserved for voters who have tested positive for COVID-19. The votes will be counted on November 10. In Gujarat, polling is taking place for eight seats – Abdasa, Limdi, Morbi, Dhari, Gadhada (ST), Karjan, Dangs (ST) and Kaprada (ST). The seats fell vacant after sitting Congress MLAs quit before the Rajya Sabha elections in June. In Uttar Pradesh, polling is taking place in seven constituencies — Naugaon Sadat, Bulandshahr, Tundla, Bangarmau, Ghatampur, Deoria, and Malhani. In Karnataka, bypolls are being held for the Sira and Raja Rajeshwari Nagar seats. Bypolls are talso taking place for two seats each in Odisha (Tirtol and Balasore Sadar), Jharkhand (Dumka and Bermo), Nagaland (Southern Angami-I and Pungro-Kiphire). In Telangana, Haryana, and Chhattisgarh, polling is taking place for Dubbaka, Baroda seats, and Marwahi seats, respectively. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *