Top Stories

Bihar Polls 2020 Live: PM Modi appeals people to vote in large numbers, 78 seats up for grabs

Polling in the third and final phase of Bihar Assembly elections began at 7 am amid tight security. The third phase covers 78 assembly seats. About 2.34 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise today. They will decide the fates of 1204 candidates. This includes Speaker Vijay Kumar Chaudhary and 12 ministers. Many of the 78 seats fall in the Kosi-Seemanchal region where the contest between NDA and Grand Alliance is being held under the shadow of Asaduddin Owaisi factor given the fact that the AIMIM has fielded candidates in many of the Muslim-dominated seats. The Hyderabad MP himself carried out a hectic campaign in the region. Besides, polling is also being held for the Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha seat today. The bypoll was necessitated by the death of sitting JD(U) MP Baidyanath Mahato. Bihar is the first state to go to polls amid pandemic. The Election Commission of India has made elaborate arrangements to ensure the smooth conduct of the democratic exercise with strict Covid guidelines in place. Polling in the first phase on October 28 covered 71 seats. The turnout was over 55 per cent. Polling in the second phase took place on Tuesday, covering 94 constituencies. The turnout was 54 per cent. The results will be declared on November 10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *